Book Review – God of Malice by Rina Kent.

โ€‹๐ŸŽ†โœจ๐ŸŽ†โœจ๐ŸŽ† Book Review ๐ŸŽ†โœจ๐ŸŽ†โœจ๐ŸŽ†


God of Malice by Rina Kent

Blurb:

 “I caught the attention of a monster.

I didnโ€™t ask for it. 

Didnโ€™t even see it coming.

But the moment I do, itโ€™s too late.

Killian Carson is a predator wrapped in sophisticated charm.

Heโ€™s cold-blooded, manipulative, and savage.

The worst part is that no one sees his devil side.

I do.

And that will cost me everything.

I run, but the thing about monsters?

They always chase.”


 My review:

3/5 โญ



I really wanted to like this. It’s not that I didn’t, I just didn’t love it. I thought Killian was a fascinating and complex character. He just wasn’t as psycho as I was expecting. He was depicted as a psychopath but really he wasn’t. He was just a boy with daddy issues which later get resolved, and dark thoughts which are dampened when he meets Glyndon, the FMC. It’s not often I don’t like the FMC, but I found Glyndon to be quite tedious. I didn’t get Killian’s fascination with her.
There was an overuse of some phrases/habits which grated on me…
 “I’ll stuff you with my cum”

 “I’ll stuff this c*nt with my cum”

 that, or cock. – It got kinda cringey.
Glyndon rubbing her hands on her shorts. – I lost count how many times she did this.
The poetic gothic writing didn’t work for me. In fact, the only instance of it was on the cliff. Even then, I didn’t twig at the time that that’s what it was until I saw GoM listed as gothic romance on Amazon. I had to go back through the book to see why.
“The air frizzles my honey-colored hair thatโ€™s streaked with natural blonde balayage and stuffs it in my eyes.” Stuffs it in her eyes?? That quote made me chuckle.
I really liked the side characters. Although Remi was annoying. Landon is coming across as potentially more psycho than Killian so I’d love more Landon. Annie and Mia are absolute sweethearts! In fact, Mia was my favourite! I love her sass and style!
I didn’t see the Devlin twist coming. I probably should have, but I didn’t. And one thing I couldn’t understand, once finding out, is how Glyndon thought they were ever best friends! He practically tried to co-erce her into killing herself! He was a master manipulator, a narcissist, and far worse than what Killian was perceived to be. I was so shocked that she mourned him the way she did.
All in all it was ok. I did enjoy some parts. Killian and Landon working together was so funny! I’m interested to see what happens with the other characters.

#bookreview #bookreviewer #godofmalice #godofmalicereview #darkromance  #bullyromance #Bookaddict  #booklovers 

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on August 2, 2022, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment