Book Review: One For The Money by Skye Warren.


Blurb:


“Finn Hughes knows about secrets. His family is as wealthy as the Rockefellers. And as powerful as the Kennedys. No one knows that the men in his line have a debilitating, early-onset illness. He’s managed the business from a young age while his father served as the figurehead. All the while knowing there’s a ticking clock on his ability to lead.


Eva Morelli is the oldest daughter. The responsible one. The caring one. The one who doesn’t have time for her own interests.


Especially not her interest in the charismatic, mysterious Finn Hughes.


A fake relationship is the answer to both their problems.


It will keep the swarming society mothers from throwing their daughters at him.


And it will keep Eva’s mother from bothering her about marriage.


Then the fake relationship starts to feel real.


But there’s no chance for them. No hope for a woman who’s had her heart broken. And no future for a man whose fate was decided long ago.”


Book Review:
NOOOOO! NO! YOU CAN’T END IT THERE!! Was the first words to come out of my mouth when I unexpectedly got to the end of this book! What a bloody cliff hanger! I need to read “Two For the Show” like, right now!! This is the fastest I have read a book in a long time! Eva and Finn’s story kept me gripped from the first page and then broke my heart. They both come from wealthy families, both have responsibilities to their families, and both are heavily relied on and leant on by their families. It was no surprise really that they end up together, even if it is just a fake relationship to get their families off their backs about settling down. Despite them having their own secrets as to why they want to keep things as a fake relationship, it soon unexpectedly turns in to something more. Even if Finn does deny it in order to save Eva from a broken heart in years to come. I found myself shouting at the book telling them that surely there’s away around this! I was devastated for them. I’m hoping, so, so, hoping that in the next book they will somehow get their happy ever after.
This is my first time delving into the Midnight Dynasty series, also my first book by Skye Warren, and I thought it was absolutely brilliant. A family saga so rich in story and drama. You get a few glimpses here and there about what happens to Eva’s siblings in previous books which made me want to read them all the more.

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on July 14, 2022, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment