Blog Archives

Next On My TBR List: And I Darken by Kiersten White.


A few weeks back the lovely Harriet at Penguin sent me a copy of the soon-to-be released And I Darken by Kiersten White. Unfortunately, I haven’t had a chance to read it yet BUT this weekend will be THE weekend that I can finally get engrossed in it! I am so excited to be reading this book! Here’s the blurb:

AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White

Published 7th July 2016

 

“The phenomenal first book in an epic feminist trilogy set in the bloody Ottoman Empire, by the New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.

 

Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and The Queen of the Tearling, this is the ultimate, gripping, ‘can’t-stop-reading!’ novel to get stuck into on your summer holiday. Anti-princess Lada Dracul is destined to be the next feminist heroine, following in the footsteps of recent strong, gritty female characters Arya Stark, Jessica Jones and Star Wars’ Rey.

 

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwyla likes it that way. 
Ever since she and her brother were abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman sultan’s courts, Lada has known that ruthlessness is the key to survival. For the lineage that makes her and her brother special also makes them targets. 
Lada hones her skills as a warrior as she nurtures plans to wreak revenge on the empire that holds her captive. Then she and Radu meet the sultan’s son, Mehmed, and everything changes. Now Mehmed unwittingly stands between Lada and Radu as they transform from siblings to rivals, and the ties of love and loyalty that bind them together are stretched to breaking point.”

Look out for my review in the coming weeks! 😃

Have a lovely weekend, all!

A Night of Infinities

Those lovely caring folk at Penguin Books recently emailed me and wanted me to pass on a very important message to all you John Green fans who love The Fault in Our Stars (it’s one of my faves too. Gets me every time) and also to anybody else who might be interested, of course! So here it is:

On 26th June, with John Green’s support, we are inviting all UK and Ireland fans of the book to unite in a ‘Night of Infinities’ and organise their own fundraising sleepovers inspired by the book.  A ‘Night of Infinities’ event pack is now available to download from www.nightofinfinities.co.uk.

As I am sure you know, The Fault in Our Stars was the UK’s biggest selling book of 2014 with sales to date exceeding a million copies in the UK alone (10 million worldwide). The book which tells the story of Hazel and Gus, two extraordinary teenagers who first meet at a cancer support group, has resonated with readers of all ages.  

Penguin and Teenage Cancer Trust now hope that the younger end of the novel’s fan base will be inspired to help raise money for the many young people like Hazel and Gus. Teenage Cancer Trust is the only UK charity dedicated to improving the quality of life and chances of survival for young people with cancer aged between 13 and 24.

  John Green is fully supportive and comments: “I worked as a student chaplain at a children’s hospital about 15 years ago for five months. During that time I started wanting to write about the young people I had met there… It just took a long while for that book to become The Fault in Our Stars. From that experience, I understand the importance of charities such as Teenage Cancer Trust and the work they do in bringing young people together and helping them get the best possible care in the best possible environment. I would be delighted if fans of my book were able to translate that into tangible support for the charity.” 

  Charli XCX, whose song Boom Clap was released as the first single from the soundtrack album of The Fault in Our Stars film and achieved worldwide chart success, is also supporting this initiative: “It is incredible how passionately people have responded to the book and the film. I really hope that enthusiasm drives as many people as possible to organise a sleepover and have fun while raising money for Teenage Cancer Trust which does so much for the many young people with cancer like Hazel and Gus in the UK.”

The ‘Night of Infinities’ event pack gives you all the information you need to organise your own sleepover whilst raising money at the Just Giving page http://www.justgiving.com/nightofinfinities. It also includes a personal thank you letter from John for taking part, tips on how to organise your sleepover (plus advice on staying safe), real-life stories from young cancer patients and lots of fundraising ideas including: making and selling ‘Okay Cake’, sponsored karaoke of songs from the movie soundtrack and nominating friends and family to take facepack selfies.

On the night itself, there will also be live online moments which will connect all the sleepovers nationwide using social media and including a dedicated radio show on W!ZARD Radio Station, the UK’s Most Popular Online Teen Radio Station set up by teen entrepreneur James Gilmore.

Interested in taking part? Click below:

 

*crosses fingers that the link works*

 
It’s really amazing what Penguin are doing and I hope you are all able to participate and help raise money for such a worthy cause.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory 50th anniversary cover

IMG_1810.JPG

Soooo this is the new Charlie and the Chocolate Factory book cover. I hate it. I absolutely hate it! It’s just…creepy! And makes me think of dolls! And….*shudders* What on earth made them think this was a suitable book cover?! I’d rather have an illustration by Sir Quentin Blake as the cover any day! Those are the drawings I know and love from my childhood and will always associate with Roald Dahl’s books.

Joanne Harris, author of Chocolat, was said to have tweeted:

“Seriously, Penguin Books. Why not just get Rolf Harris to design the next one? I’m not sure why adults need a different cover anyway, but who was it who decided that ‘adult’ meant ‘inappropriately sexualised’?”

She hit the nail on the head there. A very good point made. And I’ve never understood why there are alternative covers for adults, either.

Katy Perry The Unauthorized Biography – Review by Lauren

I have a friend who thinks Katy Perry is amazing. I know her songs but that’s it. I didn’t get all the fuss about her until now.

If you had of asked me last week what I thought of Katy Perry the words I would have said she is quirky, confident, annoying in a good way, a little bit dim perhaps? I sing along to her songs on the radio and I am going to see her live this year but I don’t really know much about her apart from she puts on a good show. I read some time ago about her being religious but I thought as usual its just the press taking something and turning it into a huge story. So when Penguin asked us if we wanted to review this book I immediately said yes as I wanted to know more about this woman! This biography has given me an insight to where Katy came from and how she got to where she is now. She had a sheltered childhood but in a loving home, her parents; born again christians who were once just as wild were very supportive of Katy. She left home very young to pursue her dreams. Her dreams were shattered over and over again, she worked very hard in the christian music scene but it just didn’t work for her. She picked herself up and moved to LA to chase her dreams. Again they were shattered as she was dropped from her label, Katy picked herself up and got signed to another label. who then dropped her. I have no idea how someone at such a young age could deal with all of that rejection!

 I have learned a lot of Katy’s early life, I have to admit I have judged her very wrongly since I Kissed a Girl. I love her music but as a person I thought she was a bit fake, dumb and weird. I now know how real, unique and quirky she is. Since the beginning she has stayed the same person despite all the downs she has had. I started to learn who Katy Perry was when she started dating Russell Brand. We all know who Russell is! I must admit I was with the world here when I say I didn’t expect that to happen! However this book gives you an insight into all the where, who’s and how’s of their relationship. I have a new-found respect for then as a couple. This book provides and insight into her friendship with Rhianna and Taylor, the genius behind her music, the people who helped her make it and the people who took a chance on her. Katy hasn’t got to where she is now by luck. She has shown us that hard work does paid off, don’t sit and wait for something to happen you have to go out there and make them happen.

 If you think Katy is a bad influence I think you need to read this book. It will totally change your vision of her. If you a fan , you still need to read this as I can guarantee there are things in here you never knew,

So if you ask me now what words spring to mind when you say Katy Perry I would say, inspirational, born star, very strong, determined, hard-working, very intelligent, glamorous, exceptionally talented, unpredictable, fantastic role model and grounded.

Katy Perry: The Unauthorized Biography by Alice Montgomery is released on the 15th September 2011.

A BIG thanks to Joe at Penguin for sending us this!!!

%d bloggers like this: