Halloween Bookfest. Book #1!

With it being Halloween month I, of course, wanted to fill my TBR list with scary, spooky books perfect for the season. I actually kicked my spooky Bookfest off with a book that may not be scary to read but is filled with scary “vampires, demons, and the forces of darkness” and that book is Demons of the Hellmouth A Guide For Slayers by Rupert Giles (Nancy Holder). 

 

How gorgeous is that cover?! I couldn’t have envisaged anything more perfect!

 
I received this as a gift from my boyfriend for my birthday last week. I cannot begin to tell you how excited and happy I was when I received it! Out of everything, this is what I had been wishing for the most. I began reading it on Saturday (had to finish reading The Probable Future by Alice Hoffman first) and finished reading it this morning (Monday). I loved it! It’s a little similar to The Monster Book but is written as though it’s Giles’ journal and the book itself is even designed like one, complete with photos and drawings -some made to look like they’ve been stuck in with sticky tape! – and also cool little side notes from the Scooby gang which makes it a little less “stuffy” 😝 to read.

 

The moustache on Sunday made me chuckle. As did Xander’s “dollars in the waistband” comment!

 
 

“Party in my eye socket” oh lol!

 
Being a huge Buffy fan, I felt so nostalgic and emotional reading it! It brought back so many memories! Like oh page 112 when Giles writes, ‘…my dream seemed to center around Spike being my son, an attack from the First Slayer, and … cheese.’ I was instantly transported back to the episode of Restless and the Cheese Man! “I wear the cheese, it does not wear me”. I love the Cheese Man! He was my favourite thing about that episode lol!

It was such a fantastic read and now I want to go and watch Buffy from the very beginning!

So what’s next on my Halloween Bookfest?? Well, I have decided to read some classic Stephen King and go with Misery. I loved the film but have never read the book so it’s time I changed that. I think I might need to leave the main light on for this, rather than ready by torchlight under the covers. Eek!

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on October 12, 2015, in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. THANK YOU! I’m glad you liked it. Giles decided to celebrate with some Boveril and a good book or he would have dropped by for a comment as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

