Honest Reviewer. Always Am, Always Will Be!

Credit goes to the amazing illustrator, Quentin Blake.

 
I had a message on Goodreads waiting for me this morning. It was from an author offering me an incentive to basically hurry up and read and review her book. The incentive? $50 or books from my wish list on Amazon. Awesome, right? Not exactly. There’s a catch … She wants a 4-5 star rating and glowing review of her book. I would happily take the offer and give her that rating, and that review she so wants, IF I genuinely thought the book was that amazing but it’s not and I am not in the business of giving dishonest reviews just to earn a bit of cash. So, thank you, but no thank you.
I know we would all love to get paid for something we love doing but not like this! I would be potentially misleading someone into thinking it’s a great read only for them to be really disappointed and I’m not willing to do that. I have morals and I’ll stick by them, thank you very much! Now, if I’d been offered money to give an honest review then I would have happily obliged.

Posted on July 31, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hey, you can read my book if you would like, and I won’t be upset if you don’t like it 😉
    My book, “Before, Afdre, and After (My stroke … oh what fun)”

    Happy Friday 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks! 😉
    I will eMail you : )

    Like

  3. I have not been approached with such incentives yet and hope I never do. How presumptuous! Sometimes I feel like withdrawing my offer of reviewing books when I hear of such blatant manipulation of the review system, but on the whole I have had more positive experiences than negative ones with most authors.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I saw this on facebook today (Goodreads)
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

