Book Review: Jane Austen Stole My Boyfriend.

  
Title: Jane Austen Stole My Boyfriend

Author: Cora Harrison

Published: 3rd February 2012

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pages: 336
Blurb:

“Jane wants to meet a hero worthy of her extraordinary imagination: a gentleman who is dashing and daring and handsome and brave; who can dance like a viscount and duel like a king. Jane and Jenny are whiling away the season in Bath and there are plenty of dances, rumours and scandals to entertain them. But a good reputation, once lost, is gone forever; and Jane is in danger of becoming the talk of the town for all the wrong reasons…”

When I first started reading this book I felt neither here, nor there about it. It just wasn’t really pulling me in and I didn’t get that I-want-to-stay-up-til-the-wee-hours-reading kind of feeling from it. However, the further I got through the book, the more I warmed to it. Once I had gotten to the end, I had the warm fuzzy feels and wanted to clutch the book to my chest and sigh happily! It was a really lovely read. Having not read Cora Harrison’s previous book “I Was Jane Austen’s Best Friend”, I didn’t know what to expect and for some reason had it in my head that it was going to be some kind of modernised story about Jane Austen so I was thrilled to discover that, no, it was in fact set in 1791 when Jane was a budding author-to-be. The story was centred around, and written from the point of view of, Jane’s cousin, Jenny (though her real name was also Jane). I loved that it was written like a diary – complete with cute little drawings – and was written in a style fitting of that era. I love how they spoke back then! Jenny writes about her family, her and Jane’s trip to Bath (which involved going to balls and wearing exquisite dresses) and also about her love, Thomas Williams, a Royal Navy captain, who wants to marry her but her brother (who is her guardian) and his wife won’t allow it. With the help of Jane and her childhood friend, Harry, Jenny and Thomas write to each other in secret (Not surprisingly, Jane saw this as very romantic) and Jane was determined that Jenny and Thomas would be married. It was great seeing it all unfold and I found myself worrying that Jenny and Thomas wouldn’t get their happy ever after. I really liked how Jane was portrayed. She was so witty and she was also a bit of a flirt! But you discover, that in spite of all that flirting, she’s fallen for a boy and wants to have her own happy ever after with him!
This book is a fabulous summer read; something to take on holiday with you to read whilst relaxing on the beach, maybe. If you love a bit of romance with a taste of the classics about it, then this is for you!
Thank you so much to Pan Macmillan for kindly sending me this book to review. It was truly a delight.

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on July 24, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

