Shadowhunters Castings – My Thoughts …

Ok, I’m just gonna lay it all out there …. I’m having a hard time adjusting to how the Shadowhunters characters are being cast. Or most of them. Choosing diversity over staying true to the books? That’s not ok with me. Am I the only one who feels this way? I am a stickler for tv shows/movies staying as close to a book’s details and storylines as possible. Particularly when it comes to the description of the main characters. I really admired Cassie when she wanted CoB’s movie characters to be like their book’s counterparts but felt disappointed when I found out, that for the tv show, she’d expressed that she wanted acting ability over character likeness. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for wanting the show to have great actors but you are not seriously telling me that the majority of the actors who walked through their casting door looking like the characters, didn’t measure up in acting ability? Really? I find that hard to believe. It just really makes me nervous for the future of the show and whether they will follow the book/s or go way off kilter like Trueblood and The Vampire Diaries have. That being said, I LOVE how TVD is turning out (the books just got ridiculous in the end) so I guess maybe there’s hope yet lol.

Sorry for the grumble, I’d just been mulling it over in my head and felt I had to vent. Being a long-time fan of the series, I feel really protective over it and want everything to be just-so, ya know?

Anyhoo, it’s gone 3am so I must try get back to sleep.

Take care.

Posted on May 9, 2015, in Books, Cassandra Clare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love the books, however, I had a very hard time getting into the movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

