To give the blog a makeover/name change?

For a while now I’ve been thinking about giving the blog a makeover and also a name change. But I’m undecided. I’ve never been a fan of change. It’s something I’ve always found hard to adjust to. Plus, in this case, I’d also have to inform publishers etc of the change, not to mention a new email address. Oh, and a new Twitter name! *sigh*

However, I feel it might be necessary as the blog has really changed over the years. When the blog first started out, it was thought up by myself and 3 other friends. We were keen on reading and reviewing books, talking about movies and TV shows, and writing about celebs and the entertainment world. It was really fun working with the girls on the blog but, after a while, things had gone really quiet which eventually lead to the blog going on hiatus due to my friends having other commitments and myself feeling like I was on some kind of reviewer’s writer’s block. I’m not sure if the girls would agree here but, it could also have been because of the pressure to constantly come up with something to blog about. Anyway, fast forward to 2014; I’d been off work ill and had this sudden urge to start the blog up again as a way to keep me occupied. This time, though, I found that as well as reviewing books, generally chatting about books, and doing a bit of proofreading, I was also talking about beauty and skincare products. Basically, anything that I was interested in. This made it easier for me to blog because it meant my focus wasn’t solely on books. Hence the name change. I feel that Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers no longer encompasses the things I blog about and that I should now come up with a more apt name. What are your thoughts? To keep it or change it?

Really sorry about the long arsed post.

Take care,

Dayna.

Posted on February 21, 2015, in Dayna's Random Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. All I can say is make sure you have a white blog background, some expert blogger on a train once told me in improves conversion. I took their word for it. Good luck πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I recently changed my name/colour scheme so I know that it’s scary wondering what people will think! It needs to be something that you want to do πŸ™‚

    I love the name of your blog, if I’m honest. I also think that it would work for any topic, not just books. After all, a ‘secret life’ could be a book blogger that secretly love make up as it isn’t stereotypical of bookish girls. I hope that makes sense!

    Good luck and best wishes for any changes you consider making πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks so much for your comment. You’ve actually managed to reassure me that the current name still works! I was worried that it didn’t and was feeling really sad about thought of changing it. May still change the look of the blog, though. Which will be interesting as I have no clue about how to do it haha (my friend, Lauren, did the original layout) so it shall be a learning curb for me, I guess.

      Like

      • I’m so glad my comment helped! It felt like I was just babbling! It’s surprising easy to change the layout and there are quite a few tutorials around πŸ™‚ try sticking a few themes in ‘preview’ mode which will let you play about a little and get a feel for it without the changes being permenant πŸ™‚ good luck!

        Like

      • Oh, don’t be daft, you weren’t babbling at all! Ooooh there’s a preview mode? Now *that* will be handy as I was so worried about messing things up and then not being able to fix them lol. Thank you so much. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • If you go to your dashboard, down the side is customise. If you click themes under the subheading, it will let you see all the themes available. You will then get the option to preview/demo some themes πŸ™‚ I find going to the old style dashboard works better for this. Hope that helps!

        Like

Leave a Reply

