I am reading…

For a while now, my head hasn’t been in the game of reading and the only time I seemed to read was on the long train journey to and from my boyfriend’s. Anyhoo, this weekend I decided I would make a concerted effort to finish the book I was reading. And I have. I stayed up ’til 2am being engrossed in the final chapters of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. Although I found myself lost and confused at times, I did thoroughly enjoy this book. There was this big cliff hanger at the end that had me rushing to Amazon to put books 2 and 3 on my wish list. I can’t wait to see how the story unfolds.

I am now about to start reading Winterspell by Claire Legrand. It looks to be such a magical and enchanting read. Hopefully, I will not be disappointed. 🙂

The blurb:

The clock chimes midnight, a curse breaks, and a girl meets a prince . . . but what follows is not all sweetness and sugarplums.

New York City, 1899. Clara Stole, the mayor’s ever-proper daughter, leads a double life. Since her mother’s murder, she has secretly trained in self-defense with the mysterious Drosselmeyer.

Then, on Christmas Eve, disaster strikes.

Her home is destroyed, her father abducted–by beings distinctly not human. To find him, Clara journeys to the war-ravaged land of Cane. Her only companion is the dethroned prince Nicholas, bound by a wicked curse. If they’re to survive, Clara has no choice but to trust him, but his haunted eyes burn with secrets–and a need she can’t define. With the dangerous, seductive faery queen Anise hunting them, Clara soon realizes she won’t leave Cane unscathed–if she leaves at all.

Inspired by The Nutcracker, Winterspell is a dark, timeless fairy tale about love and war, longing and loneliness, and a girl who must learn to live without fear.

2015/01/img_4754.jpg

2015/01/img_4755.jpg

My lovely boyfriend bought me Winterspell for Christmas and his equally lovely mum bought me the bookmark with my name engraved on it. đź’•

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on January 11, 2015, in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Winterspell looks amazing. Now I want it too! Though I can’t afford hardcopy books at the moment lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

