Review: Attachments

IMG_2035.JPG

Title: Attachments
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Published: 2nd February 2012
Publisher: Orion
Format: Paperback

Blurb (Waterstones):

“It’s 1999 and for the staff of one newspaper office, the internet is still a novelty. By day, two young women, Beth and Jennifer, spend their hours emailing each other, discussing in hilarious detail every aspect of their lives, from love troubles to family dramas. And by night, Lincoln, a shy, lonely IT guy spends his hours reading every exchange. At first their emails offer a welcome diversion, but as Lincoln unwittingly becomes drawn into their lives, the more he reads, the more he finds himself falling for one of them. By the time Lincoln realizes just how head-over-heels he really is, it’s way too late to introduce himself. What would he say to her? ‘Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mails – and also, I think I love you’. After a series of close encounters, Lincoln decides it’s time to muster the courage to follow his heart, and find out whether there really is such a thing as love before first-sight.”

*sighs happily* I could just go right back to the beginning and read this all over again. If books were types of hugs, this would be a great big cuddly, cozy, bear hug! I truly loved it. I felt the ending was a little rushed but it didn’t make me love it any less. It’s funny and romantic and oh so nostalgic. It was set around the turn of the 21st century, I would have been 16 then, so it really took me back to those days. It had me on edge not knowing whether Lincoln, the IT security guy who has to read all the emails that have been flagged, and Beth, the movie reviews reporter, would ever end up together; Whether he would ever come clean or even *how* he would come clean. – How on earth was he going to tell Beth he’d fallen in love with her from reading her’s and Jennifer’s emails to one another? Admittedly, it does sound shifty but, come on, it’s kinda romantic! I loved Rainbow’s writing style for Beth and Jennifer and the fact their conversations were set out just like emails. Their characters were such a hoot. It felt like they were your best friends, too. They were funny and chatty and when they were going through bad times you wanted to be there for them and help them through it or put the world to rights with them or insult all of man kind and have a boyfriend bonfire (yeah I’m totally channelling Phoebe and Rachel from Friends right now) when they’re having guy problems. They really had me laughing at times – actually a lot of the time – and reminded me so much of me and my best friend. I had to chuckle when Beth revealed to Jennifer that she was following *cough* stalker *cough* Lincoln – aka “my cute guy” – around because she fancied him. Finding out that she’s done that, really had me rooting for her and Lincoln. And I thought surely, because she fancied him so much so she had the overwhelming urge to follow him around, that it was destiny, they HAVE to be together and she would just HAVE to forgive him for his not-so-traditional way of falling for her seeing as, ya know, she’d been stalking him and all! I wanted them to get together so bad. There was one point, near to the end, where I felt so deflated and sad because I really didn’t think this was going to happen. My boyfriend even asked me what was wrong. When I told him why, his response was, “it’s just a book”. Now, isn’t that the typical response given by someone who doesn’t read?! *sigh* They just don’t “get it”. By the time I’d got to the last page I had this massive smile on my face. I loved it! Loved it! Loved it! I know some have said how unrealistic the outcome of Lincoln and Beth was but, hey, that’s fiction for ya!

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on August 29, 2014, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think I might buy this tonight. I loved Eleanor & Park, and your review makes me want to read this also. Nice post.

    Like

  2. Oh wow this really sounds like my kind of book! I may just have to go and buy it now!! Great review too, I thought you conveyed a great sense of what it’s like without giving too much away. Wonderful! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

