The Fault In Our Stars – The Movie

IMG_1769.PNG

Tonight my sister and I went to see The Fault in Our Stars – finally! Oh the feels! It is one of those films that has an impact on your life and stays with you forever. It’s real, it’s honest, it’s heart wrenching and it’s funny. You find yourself laughing one moment and crying the next. The characters were just as loveable in the film as they were in the book. The film captured the essence of the book beautifully and, for me, it is one of the more successful book adaptations. Hazel has such a real outlook on life, she accepts the fact she has cancer and that there is no point lying, she IS going to die, and I love that about her. Gus is a witty and charming guy who I related to because I, too, have an artificial leg (though cancer wasn’t the reason why my leg was amputated) and even though you wouldn’t normally get emotional about a sex scene, I did. Why? Because the one thing you worry about as an amputee is how a person will react, not only when you tell them for the first time, but also when they see your stump for the first time. Gus preparing Hazel for what his stump will be like, right before they have sex, is basically what I was like too because you worry that the other person will freak out and go running for the hills. So, yeah, I got all emotional but then burst out laughing when Hazel struggled to get her top off coz it’s so real! Daft things like that really do happen! Like I said, there were certainly some funny moments but I found myself bawling my eyes out at other moments like when Gus totally breaks down in his car. Like in the book, I wish there had been more scenes at Gus’s house after he got really ill as I felt the car scene would have made even more of an impact on the viewer. There was a fair bit not included in the film but despite that, it was still amazing! Okay? Okay.

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on August 8, 2014, in Book vs Movie, Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I loved the book and the movie. I thought it was pretty good adaptation and a wonderful movie overall (:

    Like

  2. Alright, I guess I should probably see this . . .

    After Guardians of the Galaxy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

