Haunted by Heather Beck Review

Heather Beck contacted us and asked us to review her book ‘ Haunted’ It is anthology of ghostly encounters and paranormal events. Here is the blurb

Ghost Park

After discovering a mysterious playground in the woods, Chase is stalked by angry ghost children.

A Haunting Past

Truce’s class trip to an old native reserve turns deadly when Bear, an infamous chief who died two hundred years ago, blames him for the tribe’s extinction.

The Manor On The Rocks

Grey, damp and surrounded by jagged rocks, Calla Lily’s new home isn’t only unpleasant, it’s also haunted by the world’s most evil boy.

A Medieval Nightmare

When Ellie and Brandon get trapped in a medieval museum that’s a bit too real, they fall under a spell and become pivotal players in a ghostly regime.

A Watery Grave

A camping trip becomes a heart-pounding race for survival when Justine meets a ghost who’s determined to change her fate by trading bodies with a living entity.

Straight away I knew this was written for the younger teens that interested in horror’s – maybe horror is a strong word but for a middle grader this would be classed scary enough to be called a horror. These stories are brilliant for easily introducing children to such stories. I remember when I was young I was subjected to Fright Friday every week and my love for all things scary started. Then my mother bought me the first Goosebumps book and I was hooked. To me this is a similar type of book.

They are easy to read, quite simply worded. Sometimes I felt as though the story didn’t flow much and the endings were rushed. Overall I quite enjoyed reading them. My favorite story was The Manor On The Rocks. It was a quite scary and I am 24! However I did feel it could have been developed a lot more however giving the nature of the book it wouldn’t have been appropriate to extend it. I do think I had a disadvantage as my mind is not a teen mind, I have ready so many fantastic books so trying to turn my mind back to a young readers mind was quite difficult so I don’t think I can review each story one by one.

So if you’re in your early teens or looking for some fun easy reading this book is for you!

You can purchase your copy here

About Laus Life

I'm Lauren, in my twenties, words to desbribe me? A bit of everything! I love books, movies, sports, animals, travelling, music, rock stars, photography. I could go on and on. I like to write. I cannot write so I blog.

Posted on May 5, 2012, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

