The Buried Covenant Review & Giveaway by Shawn P Keenan – By L

 Shawn Keenan kindly put his book up for review with us! Here is a a snip-it

 “Being hardheaded is a common character flaw, but most teenagers can’t crack a concrete curb with their skull. And while a skilled skateboarder appears to defy gravity, he can’t keep water from pouring out of an upturned cup. Unintentionally tapping into latent powers has brought Jayke Wolff to the attention of the Aduro, an ancient society plotting an apocalyptic new world order. He’s now their number one draft pick, and they’ve dispatched their most seductive member to close the deal. It shouldn’t take much convincing a hormonal teenage boy to turn his back on a cryptic covenant for a future of self-indulgence and unchecked power. But if Jayke can’t be tempted by pleasures of the flesh, the flesh can be influenced in less pleasant ways as well. Armageddon can’t wait forever. Killing Jayke will also work. Not remembering your past and not believing in your future can make it hard to choose who you’re going to be. Jayke has to decide how much of his teenage life he’s willing to sacrifice for a greater good. After all, you’re only young once.”

I was drawn to read this book because it sounded slightly different to what I have previously read. It took a while to get going – about 40% of the way through was when the questions began to ring in my head. However something was still grabbing me and making me read on. I loved how Keenan managed to bring a sort of ancient-ness ( is that even a word?) to an up-to-date story. I really liked how Jayke had no idea who he was, he had an incline but no diea then bam his whole life changed!

I thought the characters were well thought through, everyone had a part to play – there was not one person in this book that could have been missed. I kind of got a Charmed feel for this book – remember that show? I love it!!! I couldn’t pin point another book to say if you liked this….. then you would would love this because I don’t think I’ve read anything like this before. However I would put it in the same genre of MR Merrick Protector Series.

My favorite part of this book was the moral of the story – the same moral I live my life by “My life was mine to mess up, mine to get right, but unquestionably mine to experience. Freewill. For better or for worse. I was wired to make my own decision in life. And I’d make the right one tonight” I just love that quote – seems to be serving my life quite well!

So do you fancy winning a copy? Shawn has kindly given us 5 copies to giveaway! All you need to do is follow both @SLFictionLovers and @ShawnPKeenan and tweet:

“ @SLFictionLovers I want to win a copy of The Buried Covenant by @ShawnPKeenan “

Giveaway closes on Wednesday at 8pm GMT and the 5 winners will be announced at 10pm.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Book Reviews, Lauren's Random Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

