Rachel Caine’s The Morganville Series Review by Emma

The great thing about arriving late to the Morganville party is that you have eleven phenomenal and gripping books to sink your teeth into (pun completely intended), before you run out and have to wait four excruciating months for the next book to be released.
I managed to read all eleven of The Morganville Vampires books in just eight days, only stopping for meals and sleep (begrudgingly). Of course, as with any book series, it did seem to slow down and drag a little in the middle, most likely due to the fact that I wasn’t going to stop reading until there was nothing left for me to read. Whether anyone else would have this same problem or not, I don’t know, perhaps it was my fault for reading too much of it all at once, sometimes, a gap between books is a good thing.
Let’s just say that any issues with the series dulling down, is a completely moot point by the time you get to the last instalment, currently available, Last Breath, which had me absolutely hooked, shouting at my family to be quiet so I could focus, and holing myself up in my room so that I could get some much needed peace to immerse myself fully into the world of Morganville.
If you like your vampires a little less sparkly and a lot more mythical, then this is definitely the series for you.
Meet Claire Danvers, a sixteen (almost seventeen) year old girl who is incredibly advanced in years and has already graduated onto college. She wants to attend Harvard but her parents want her to stay nearer to home to begin with and transfer onto another school in a few years’ time. So that’s how she finds herself as a student at the Texas Prairie University. But all is not as it seems and it soon becomes apparent to Claire that there are more important people living in the town, people who offer their “protection” to those who are beneath them.
After a run in with her arch nemesis, Monica, Claire decides she can no longer live in the dorms and so she sets about finding herself somewhere to live and this is how she meets her new friends, gothic Eve, hot headed Shane and secret hiding Michael Glass.
I won’t say much more because I really don’t want to spoil the stories for anyone who hasn’t read them yet but I honestly think that anyone who enjoys young adult, vampires, a fearless heroine, or a mix of all three, will definitely want to add this series to their “Must Read” list.
Bravo to Rachel Caine for creating a world so gripping and realistic. This is a town I would definitely like to live in.
Books in the series:
Glass Houses
The Dead Girls’ Dance
Midnight Alley
Feast of Fools
Lord of Misrule
Carpe Corpus
Fade Out
Kiss of Death
Ghost Town
Bite Club
Last Breath
Black Dawn (due for release May 2012)


About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Book Reviews, Rachel Caine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: