Katy Perry The Unauthorized Biography – Review by Lauren

I have a friend who thinks Katy Perry is amazing. I know her songs but that’s it. I didn’t get all the fuss about her until now.

If you had of asked me last week what I thought of Katy Perry the words I would have said she is quirky, confident, annoying in a good way, a little bit dim perhaps? I sing along to her songs on the radio and I am going to see her live this year but I don’t really know much about her apart from she puts on a good show. I read some time ago about her being religious but I thought as usual its just the press taking something and turning it into a huge story. So when Penguin asked us if we wanted to review this book I immediately said yes as I wanted to know more about this woman! This biography has given me an insight to where Katy came from and how she got to where she is now. She had a sheltered childhood but in a loving home, her parents; born again christians who were once just as wild were very supportive of Katy. She left home very young to pursue her dreams. Her dreams were shattered over and over again, she worked very hard in the christian music scene but it just didn’t work for her. She picked herself up and moved to LA to chase her dreams. Again they were shattered as she was dropped from her label, Katy picked herself up and got signed to another label. who then dropped her. I have no idea how someone at such a young age could deal with all of that rejection!

 I have learned a lot of Katy’s early life, I have to admit I have judged her very wrongly since I Kissed a Girl. I love her music but as a person I thought she was a bit fake, dumb and weird. I now know how real, unique and quirky she is. Since the beginning she has stayed the same person despite all the downs she has had. I started to learn who Katy Perry was when she started dating Russell Brand. We all know who Russell is! I must admit I was with the world here when I say I didn’t expect that to happen! However this book gives you an insight into all the where, who’s and how’s of their relationship. I have a new-found respect for then as a couple. This book provides and insight into her friendship with Rhianna and Taylor, the genius behind her music, the people who helped her make it and the people who took a chance on her. Katy hasn’t got to where she is now by luck. She has shown us that hard work does paid off, don’t sit and wait for something to happen you have to go out there and make them happen.

 If you think Katy is a bad influence I think you need to read this book. It will totally change your vision of her. If you a fan , you still need to read this as I can guarantee there are things in here you never knew,

So if you ask me now what words spring to mind when you say Katy Perry I would say, inspirational, born star, very strong, determined, hard-working, very intelligent, glamorous, exceptionally talented, unpredictable, fantastic role model and grounded.

Katy Perry: The Unauthorized Biography by Alice Montgomery is released on the 15th September 2011.

A BIG thanks to Joe at Penguin for sending us this!!!

Posted on August 29, 2011, in Biographies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I blog often and I really appreciate your content. This great article has truly peaked my interest.
    I will take a note of your website and keep checking for
    new details about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

