Madly/Wolfhardt Review by Dayna

Madly/Wolfhardt – M. Leighton.

Madly is your average nearly-eighteen year old girl-for a mermaid princess, that is.

Madly James is thoroughly enjoying her internship in Slumber when the unthinkable happens-there’s a prison break in Atlas, Madly’s home beneath the sea. A traitor has set free eight Lore, the spirits of what humans know as fairy tales, and they are making their way to Slumber to awaken their descendants.

The first spirit to arrive is that of Ulrich Wolfhardt, a man that was once obsessed with wolves and a young maiden he would follow through the woods. After a bite from a wolf, Wolfhardt’s obsession with the girl became an unnatural hunger and the young maiden’s grandmother cursed him with a fate worse than death. And now he’s back…with a vengeance and a bite that can infect others as well.

Madly must learn the identity of Wolfhardt’s descendant and stop him before he kills again and spreads his curse across the earth. But the only person strong enough to help Madly is Jackson, the Sentinel who vowed to protect her and the one person capable of breaking her heart. Can Madly resist forbidden love long enough to save the world from Wolfhardt? Or will she have to sacrifice her heart and her destiny to save the ones she loves?

Before I start rambling on about how awesome the book was, I just wanted to take a moment to comment on the cover which I think is so breathtaking, so ethereal. It encompasses the atmosphere and theme of the story perfectly.

Now, on to the review. but, wait, I just want to add that…I am in love with Jackson. There I said it. And if I may, I’m going to borrow a phrase from the lovely author, Tiffany King and say, Jackson is a McHottie! I wanted to take him for myself. He’s my new fictional crush (there are a few lol) who I imagine to look like Alex Meraz or Eric Balfour but is as tall as Daniel Cudmore. Jackson is Madly’s love interest but she is unfortunately due to be betrothed to Aiden and that is all I will say on the matter because I want to make it as non-spoilery as possible).

I have to admit, I am glad I hadn’t read Madly before now and that I was able to read it knowing that I could move on to Wolfhardt straight after because if not, I would have been left with a mouth hanging wide open in disbelief thinking, “WHAT? NO! I, I…It can’t end there!!” *sulks* As it was, this didn’t happen and was safe in the knowledge that I could just swipe the page and continue reading 😀

Madly and Wolfhardt are an amazingly enchanting and wondrous read about the Mer folk with a modern day twist. There were some incredibly funny moments and we can not forget that there were some very steamy moments too 😉 This was my first experience of reading about the Mer and it has been very enjoyable indeed – that’s an understatement! I love that they have their own magical world but journey on to shore to interact with our world to protect the descendants of the Lore. I also love that it was interwoven with fairytales. I was quite shocked when Wolfhardt finished because I wasn’t expecting it although it was a perfect place to finish it. There was such a shocking twist to the tale that even I hadn’t seen coming.

I have to say, I am intrigued to know what will come of the twins (one of which Madly’s friend, Jersey was dating but who then dumped her). There’s something odd about them. My thinking is they are part of a certain fairy tale and I’m wracking my brain trying to figure out which but I can’t put my finger on it I then thought maybe they could be the Grimm brothers. I’m hoping we find out more about the twins in book 3. I’m also wondering what will happen to poor old Aiden and how what happened will affect his life as a mer.

I’m so excited for book 3! I wish I could read it already. I’m itching to find out what happens!

I rate this book 5/5

To find out more about M. Leighton and her other amazing books (which I so can not wait to read) go here

Note: This was an E-book kindly given to us by the author specially to review for the blog.

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on August 14, 2011, in Book Reviews, M. Leighton and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dayna, thank you so, so much not only for reading Madly & Wolfhardt, but for your kind and generous words in this glowing review. I’m thrilled–THRILLED, I say–that you enjoyed it so much:) *big sigh* You made my day!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

