The Sleepwalkers by J Gabriel Gates Review by Lauren

The Sleepwalkers is totally not my general genre however I saw this and thought I’d give it ago. I had reservations about it being a bit over imaginative and hard to visualize I was totally wrong.

A brief description of this book is hard to do without giving away any spoilers. Caleb a budding journalist was planning on a trip to Africa after graduation, however when he received a letter from an old friend back in Florida his plans went out the window. Caleb and Bean decided to go back to his childhood town, where his father lives to find her.  However his father is not there. There is something wrong in the town. Christine is not there, she is in the Dream Centre and she did not send the letter. Kids are going missing and the Dream Centre is not the Dream Centre.

This is a very fast paced gripping horror. Not the type of horror that will scare you to death but it is definitely creepy! Page one is straight in with the plot as no setting the scene was required. It gripped me completely. All my reservations went out the window as I was thrown into this world of The Sleepwalkers.  

There are only a few words to describe this but I think it will confuse you. It’s humorous, scary, creepy, cleverly written, lots of twists, disturbing, unsettling all in a good way. It is very well written, I could actually read it and imagine it happening. It wasn’t too far-fetched at all.  I couldn’t put this down.  If I had it to hold I mean. I actually got an ARC of this. It is due to be released in October 2011 (don’t worry we shall remind you!). I am so glad I have been introduced to this author as many good things are to come from him.

To me this is a starter horror by this I mean it gently allows you to slowly enter into the young adult world of horror without disturbing you.  I have recommended this to be added to all my friends reading  lists!

 I rate this 4.5/5

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on July 19, 2011, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Curiouser and curiouser! I shall add this to my Amazon wishlist now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

