Interview with Katie M John – The Knight Trilogy Author!

A few weeks back we had an interview with Katie to find out more about who she is, what the Knight Trilogy has to offer and a few more fun facts!

So who is Katie M John?

> Did you just wake up one day and say ” Hey, I’m going to write a book!”?

 Strangely this was kind of how it happened. I had always thought I would write a book but life got in the way; I always found an excuse and then one day, the story demanded it be written. It was the accumulation of scenes and stories I had been daydreaming about for years.

> Can you tell us a bit about TFoA for those who do not know of it?

 The Forest of Adventures is Book One of The Knight Trilogy. It’s about a seventeen year old college girl called Mina who attends a typical country sixth form college in Cornwall. She has a childhood sweetheart called Sam and she is very determined about where her life is going, that is until the mysterious and handsome Blake Belvedier arrives. It is love at first sight and totally turns her world around.

Her love for Blake finds her increasingly pulled into a magical world she thought only existed in fairytales. But although pretty and magical, The Realm is actually a dark and dangerous place, especially as Mina has attracted the jealousy of Morgan Le Fay.
The story is a rollercoaster ride of emotion that explores the bittersweet love of childhood sweethearts and the passion and pain of love at first sight.

It’s a novel about growing up, loss and consequences.

>  We love the cover! How much input do you have to that side of things?

I had a lot of say in the design of the cover and the overall brand because it is published with a very small press house. In this situation the novel, in its entirety, belongs very much to the author.

The final cover was based on a digital sketch I had produced for it.

> What can you tell us about your next book?

 My next book is Immortal Beloved and is Book Two of The Knight Trilogy. It sees Mina coming to terms with the consequences of the ending to The Forest of Adventures. It is a dark time and deals with some quite heavy and sensitive issues.

There is a shift in the book about a third of the way through which sees Mina travelling to Egypt in order to rescue Blake’s heart. It becomes a classic race against the clock action adventure. Sam and Delta accompany her and it is very much a book about friendship and loyalty.
None of them come back from Egypt the same, each profoundly changed by the experiences that happen.

It plays around with a lot of cool Egyptian myths and ideas and without giving too much away, the story is a reversal of a very famous myth which crosses all the major myth systems.

> Who are your inspirations?

I wouldn’t have been able to write this without the amazing Mallory. His Morte de Arthur directly inspires the trilogy and in fact the title ‘The Forest of Adventures’ is lifted from his work.

I also wouldn’t have sat down to write this if it hadn’t been for the reading of the Twilight Saga. I found something compelling about the world that Meyer created and was intrigued by the effect that her characterisation had on me (okay, it’s no secret that I have a complete Edward crush!!)

The Twilight Saga taught me to embrace the ‘story telling’ element rather than the ‘worthy’. I think she made me realise that there is a way to tell stories, create myths that doesn’t have to be bogged down by over intellectualism. (I mean this as a massive compliment not a criticism)

> You mentioned you love The Hunger Games, we do too! Are you Team Peeta or Team Gale?

 Bit controversial here but I am a team Gale. Peeta is just a little bit too … ‘heroic’ for me; I like my heroes flawed.

> What other books have you read and would recommend to us?

Michael Grant’s ‘Hunger’ trilogy and Maggie Stiefvater’s ‘Mercy Falls series’. I also enjoyed Malinda Lo’s ‘Ash’ but classics too are amazing. Everybody should read Golding’s ‘Lord of The Flies’, Huxley’s ‘Brave New World’, Orwell’s‘Nineteen Eighty Four’ and Atwoods ‘Handmaids Tale’

> Since, eBooks are becoming so popular, we prefer having a hard copy in our hand, which do you prefer Ebook or paperback?

 I’m a paperback girl but … I am coming around to the idea of a Kindle.

> Do you have any advice for our blog?

No, just keep doing what you’re doing. Blog’s like yours bring books alive.

> Finally, why should people read your book?

People should read my book because it will make you see the magic around you. And to be honest … Blake. He’s reason enough!

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on July 17, 2011, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

