Exiled Review By Dayna

Exiled – M.R. Merrick.

Chase Williams is a demon hunter in the Circle, or at least he was supposed to be. On his fifteenth birthday, Chase stepped up to the altar to claim his elemental power, but it never came. Elemental magic is passed down to a hunter through the bloodline, but on Chase’s birthday, the bloodline stopped.

Exiled without the Circle’s protection, Chase has spent two years trying to survive a world riddled with half-demons and magic. When he has a run in with a frightened, and seemingly innocent demon, he learns the Circle’s agenda has changed: the Circle plans to unlock a portal and unleash pure-blood demons into the world. Vowing to stop them, and knowing he can’t do it alone, Chase forms a reluctant alliance with Rayna – a sexy witch with an attitude and a secret. In their attempt to stop them, Chase and Rayna find themselves in the middle of the Circle’s plan, leaving one of them to decide what their friendship is worth, and the other’s life depending on it.

Wow there was action from the very beginning. A spellbinding read that I never wanted to end. I think I must have gone through all emotions possible reading this book. It had me laughing so hard in some parts, frustrated in others, incredibly angry and then crying at other parts so get ready for a rollercoaster of a ride! Merrick’s writing is incredible and if you’re like me and like updating your statuses with quotes from books then this is quote-a-plenty! Merrick is also so brilliantly descriptive that in my head I could vividly picture each scene as it unfolded. The detail put in to the monsters and fight scenes were so descriptive that at times it verbally made me go “Ewww” and “Oh my god I could so picture this scene in a movie or something right out of an episode of buffy”. Gotta love a book with detail like that. It makes it all the more engrossing and exciting to read. I also loved that magic and the use of the elements were part and parcel of being a demon hunter.

I have to say that I loved Merrick’s unique take on the classic vampire where-by in this, when the vampire transforms into its’ demon form, its’ ‘Milky skin faded into transparent flesh, revealing the moving muscles beneath. Veins ran black through the vampire’s face and limbs, pushing against the thinning clear skin. Strange muscles in his hands pushed bony talons out over his finger nails, and the whites of his eyes disappeared, filling with an inky blackness.’

Character wise, I love Rayna. She’s got spunk and I love her sarcasm and wit. Actually, the same could be said for Chase.  They have more in common than they care to admit to begin with. Love the witty banter and chemistry between them. I’m hoping for more chemistry in book 2 (please? Pleeeaaase??? Pretty please with lots of chocolate and chocolate ice-cream and lots more chocolatey goodness on top?). Rayna and Chase are such strong characters who have been and continue to go through so much both separately and together.

The relationship Chase has with his mum, Tessa is so loving and sweet and whenever I see the phrase “You and me, always,” it brings a little tear to my eye.

The character, Willy is one of my favourites. He’s so lovely. He’s a little wimpy and I kind of imagine him to be a little geeky looking too. I found myself wanting to protect him and I felt especially bad when Chase roped him in to doing things he didn’t want to do but he pushes down that fear and reluctantly does it anyway because he wants to help. I can’t wait to see how he develops in book 2!

The sequel to Exiled will be called Shift and will hopefully be released mid-December. Is it December yet??

If you’re a Buffy,  Supernatural fan or just a fan of the whole demon hunter thing in general, you’ll be sure to enjoy this.

I rate this 5/5!

PS: I want a golden torrent!

You can purchase Exiled as an ebook from:
Amazon US

Amazon UK

Smashwords

Posted on July 13, 2011, in Book Reviews, M R Merrick and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This book looks pretty-looking.

    Cassandra H @ Book & Movie Depository
    http://bmdepository.blogspot.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

