Single Girls To Do List…Review by Kimi

Rachel Summers loves a to-do list:

• Boyfriend
• Flat
• Great job

NOT on the list:

• Being dumped

Best friends Emelie and Matthew ride to her rescue with an entirely new kind of list – The Single Girl’s To-Do List. Rachel doesn’t know it, but it will take her on all kinds of wild adventures – and get her in some romantic pickles too. And then it won’t be a case of what but who she decides to tick off…

• Mr. bendy yoga instructor
• Mr. teenage sweetheart
• Mr. persistent ex
• Mr. deeply unsuitable

The Single Girl’s To-Do List gives Rachel the perfect heartbreak cure – and proves love is out there if you’re willing to take a chance.

I’ve been a fan of Lindsey Kelk’s writing since I got a copy of “I Heart New York” free with Glamour Magazine, I started reading it the day I got it and couldn’t put it down. I then read “…Hollywood” and “…Paris” and loved them aswell, so I was ecstatic when Lindsey announced she was writing a stand alone novel. Although after finishing the book I was disappointed that it was a one off, and not part of a series. *sad face*

I happened to pre-order the novel online, and it was sent out about 2 weeks early (naughty distributor) but I loved the fact that I got the novel early. I started reading it as soon as I got it and, just like with IHNY, I just couldn’t put it down.

I’m a huge fan of writing To-Do Lists, and I have lots of different lists myself. The concept of having to write a List in order to feel truly single really appealed to me and was something I could relate to completely. Some of the things on the list were things that I’ve tried myself after a break up (get a tattoo, make over, bungee jump or similar – I did a skydive) and I think that was one reason why I instantly clicked with Rachel’s character, I could see myself (and especially my previous post break up selves) in her.

I loved Rachel’s determination to complete the list, she didn’t mope for too long about being single, she got on with completing her list and trying to get everything done in 2 weeks. I admired the fact she wasn’t a Damsel In Distress and took it upon herself (with the prodding of her friends) to make things fun again.

The other characters in the novel are brilliant too, Emelie and Matthew would make a welcome addition to my life, I’d love to have them as friends.

Rachel’s Ex-Boyfriend Simon is instantly dislike-able. He grated on me straight away, and I really didn’t want Rachel to ever speak to him again. He was horrible (which I know was the point, but still, you end up really hating him.)

Dan, however, was lovely. I always end up falling for characters in novels, it’s crazy, I know, but I couldn’t help falling for Dan. He was cheeky, charming and loveable.

This novel was so easy to read and you fall into the story and the dialogue instantly. The characters were so well written and came alive in my mind like a movie. Lindsey Kelk herself was actually playing Rachel in my head, and Dan was simply gorgeous.

I’d definitely recommend this novel to anyone who likes a fun, interesting, easy to read Chick Lit.

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Book Reviews, Lindsey Kelk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

