The Forest of Adventures Review – By Dayna

The Forest of Adventures – Katie M. John.

 

For seventeen year old Mina Singer, falling in love with an Arthurian Knight on a white horse was never part of the plan – especially being that she’s an ordinary college girl living in the twenty first century.
As Mina finds herself catapulted into a land she believed only existed in the bedtime stories of her childhood, she soon discovers that Fairyland is not quite as innocent as she imagined.

The question is…who will come out alive?

Haunting, beautiful and sexy, The Forest of Adventures, is a dark romantic quest into the land of true and forbidden love.

 

Mina and Sam are childhood sweethearts but then she meets the mysterious Blake and her life is completely turned around. He introduces her to a world that she thought was only a legend, a myth. Never in her wildest dreams did she think the Arthurian legend could be real.

Being a fan of the medieval times, I love the magical-ness and romanticism involved in this story and how the Arthurian Legend was cleverly intertwined with modern day. Reading this book I felt like I had been transported into The Realm. I felt like I was right there amongst the knights, the swords, the pavilions and was just itching to wear the gorgeous clothes they wore. I could picture it so vividly in my mind.

I actually like The Realm’s stance on the role of women in their society. They were seen as very powerful and intelligent women. They were respected. If a woman had a baby, everyone would help out so her life wouldn’t change too much and she could still do the things she wants to do. It was only talked about a little in the story but it was just something that stuck in my head.

At first I was torn as to whether Mina should be with Sam or Blake but I think she made the right choice in the end. It didn’t stop me from feeling gutted for the guy that she chose not to be with though. I really felt for him.

Big thanks to Lauren for recommending TFoA to me. She knows my book tastes so well! I’m sure she was pleased that I’d finally read the book so she’d have someone to gossip with about it 🙂 I’d have to completely agree with her about the mercy fight! That was so shocking! I still can’t get over what happened!

I’m still in denial about the ending. I’m choosing to believe that all is not as it seems. I think it’s an evil trick *keeps telling herself that*

Overall, an enthralling read that I want to read again and again! Very excited for the sequel, Immortal Beloved!

I rate this book 5/5.

To find out more visit The Knight Trilogy

Read Lauren’s review HERE

Posted on June 29, 2011, in Book Reviews, Katie M John and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

