X Men: First Class film review by Kimi

X Men: First Class

Starring:
James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Kevin Bacon, and Jennifer Lawrence.

I was really excited to see this film, I’ve mentioned before that I’m a huge comic book film geek, and the X Men films are amongst my favourite films of all time.

The film is mainly based in the 60’s, around the Cuban Missile crisis, and I really enjoyed all the historical references in the film. When I saw the trailer I was slightly put off, and thought there was a danger of it becoming a bit like a history lesson, but I think the history and the mutant aspects of the film were merged really well, and, although the film was set in the 60’s, it felt very current, like it could have been set in present day.

I really liked the introduction and explanation of the new mutants – Havoc, Azazel, Riptide, Banshee, Angel, Darwin, Emma Frost and Sebastian Shaw – aswell as the more well known mutants, Beast, Professor X, Magneto and Beast, and I think the explanation of everyone’s powers was great. 2 of my favourite scenes were the sequence with Havoc in the bunker and the scene with Banshee on top of the satellite dish.

I loved the 2 main cameo’s – I won’t spoil them, but they were fab – and I loved the reference to “Agent Stryker, and his son William” when Xavier is trying to convince the CIA that mutant powers exist.

One thing I also love about all the X Men films is the amount of “big name stars” that are in the films, such as James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender and Kevin Bacon in this one, and Patrick Stewart, Halle Berry and Hugh Jackman, to name a few, in the other films. I like how lesser known, but still brilliant, actors are given a shot in these films too, like Daniel Cudmore in X2, Anna Paquin and Ellen Page in X1-3 and Lucas Till, Jennifer Lawrence and Edi Gathegi in XM:FC.

I had a lot of favourite moments in this film, the cameos, the training, and I don’t have many bad things to say about it, although I do have an issue with the way the film ended, the scene in the nuclear reactor grated on me a little bit because it seemed a bit out of character for one of the people involved, that’s all I can say without spoiling the whole film, but I think that if you see it you’ll know what I mean.

This is a fabulous film, that I would recommend to Film Geeks and non geeks alike, I went to the cinema with a full non-geek and she loved the film. Definitely see this at the cinema and don’t wait for the DVD before you see it.

Despite my issues with the end of the film, I give this 5 Stars.

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on June 21, 2011, in Kimi's Random Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

