Dead Beautiful – Review By Dayna

Dead Beautiful-Yvonne Woon

Renée finds her parents dead on her sixteenth birthday. The official report is that they both died from a heart attack. Renée doesn’t believe that. It’s too weird-a-coincidence. So what happened? Why has her grandfather-now her legal guardian-enrolled her in Gottfried Academy? A school that is turning out to be very strange indeed. And what secret is the gorgeous and mysterious Dante hiding?

From the first few pages I was gripped. A fantastic and unique story with plenty of mystery, intrigue and romance. I don’t think I could have asked for anything more. I enjoyed it so much and the ending is just…bitter sweet. Yvonne Woon must have done a fair amount of research (that or she is incredibly knowledgeable) in Latin, Philosophy and some other subjects talked about in the book. It just made the story all that more interesting. Dante’s background ended up turning out a lot different to how I had imagined it to be in my head. I love a book that can throw me off course as it goes off completely in the opposite direction.

I have to admit that it did remind me of Twilight in some respects. Not the story as such but just certain things that were said. This is in no way meant as a negative thing, it just made me chuckle at the likeness between the two at times.
Fans of Twilight and The Immortals, I think you guys would especially enjoy this.

Can not wait to read the sequel, “Life Eternal”!

I rate this book 5/5

Why not see what Lauren thought here
Visit Yvonne Woon to find out more.

NB: This book was a review copy sent to me by the publisher.

Posted on May 22, 2011, in Book Reviews, Yvonne Woon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

