The Hunger Games – By Kimi

Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

have to be honest, I hadn’t heard anything about this book before my friend lent me his copies and said “You’ll love this…It changed my life.” I didn’t believe him, it takes a lot for me to get completely dragged in by a book series, and I’d been told that The Hunger Games trilogy was like a mix between Big Brother and Lord of the Flies, and that put me off a little bit. I took the books from him and put them to one side with no intention to really read them, because I didn’t think they’d be my kind of thing. How wrong I was.

From the first few pages I was completely hooked. The story follows Katniss Everdeen, Gale Hawthorne and Peeta Mellark who live in District 12 in the post-apocalyptic nation of Panem. In Panem there is an annual tradition called “The Hunger Games” which is where one boy and one girl from each of the districts get chosen to fight to the death in a televised event. Katniss and Peeta are chosen to represent District 12.

I think one of the reasons I enjoyed the book so much is because of the characters. Collins created a very strong female lead, in Katniss. She is passionate, clever and deeply caring. The scenes with Peeta in the cave and Katniss with Rue were very emotional (no spoilers, but if you’ve read it you’ll know what I mean) and the relationships that Katniss has with Peeta and Gale were very believable throughout the book. I’m a huge Gale fan. I fell in love with him around about chapter 3. Collins has obviously put a lot of thought in to her characters and it shows in the writing.

There is something for everyone in The Hunger Games. There is action, in the Game arena, there is a lot of drama and some comedy moments with Haymitch and there is romance between Katniss and…now that’d be telling.

Overall I’d say I have to actually agree with my friend, this book (and the 2 sequels) actually changed my life. I tried to save book 1 for a plane journey, but finished it 2 days before I was due to fly. Oops. It’s a good job I had the sequel, Catching Fire, to keep me company.

I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone, and I am giving The Hunger Games a rating of 5/5!!

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on May 20, 2011, in Book Reviews, Suzanne Collins and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

