No Time For Goodbye – By Kimi

 A Book written by Linwood Barclay

How would you feel if you woke up one morning and your whole family had disappeared?

That’s what happened to 14yr old Cynthia Bigge. After a drunken argument with her Father the night before, Cynthia woke up to find her entire family had disappeared without so much as a post-it note being left behind. It’s hard to empathise with such a horrible situation, as it’s not something that we all go through, but for Cynthia this is her life, and 25 yrs later, nothing has changed. There’s been no sign of her family, alive or dead, and Barclay’s novel follows Cynthia as she tries to find answers to the mystery of her family’s disappearance.

I picked up this novel because it was recommended by Richard and Judy in their Book Club, and it was the first book I’d ever read by Barclay, but it was so good that I ended up pre-ordering all of his subsequent novels. This novel is so full of twists and turns that I just couldn’t put it down, I read it in about 6 hours and every chapter made me want to keep going and find out the next answers.

The character development is also quite good in this novel, and there are some surprises that I didn’t see coming at first, but when I read the book the second time, the clues were all there about what was going to happen, I obviously just hadn’t been reading these clues correctly the first time round.

All in all this book is a great thriller, and it’s something I would recommend to anyone who is a fan of a good mystery novel.

I give No Time For Goodbye a rating of 5 out of 5.

Posted on May 20, 2011, in Book Reviews, Linwood Barclay. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

