Forbidden – Review By Dayna

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma


A thought provoking story of two teenagers falling in love and their struggle along the way. Despite knowing it is forbidden and taboo amongst society, in the end, Maya and Lochan can no longer avoid their feelings for one another. It is just tearing them apart. The only problem is…they’re brother and sister. Their mother, an alcoholic and more interested in going out on the lash with her boyfriend, is barely able to look after them and their younger siblings leaving Maya and Lochan to become the surrogate parents. Their relationship has always felt like a friendship rather that of a brother and sister. A more special, deeper bond than that.

Personally this story certainly opened my eyes and made me realise that nothing is as black and white as it seems. Even though I thought I shouldn’t, I found myself routing for them and hoping and praying for a happy-ever-after…somehow (I had this same feeling about Jace and Clary). Everyone deserves to be happy right? No matter who it’s with? You can’t help who you fall in love with.

I love that the story was told from both Maya and Lochan’s point of view. It was beautifully written and so incredibly heart breaking. Nearing the end of the book I cried. I mean I REALLY cried. I balled. I wept. I sobbed my heart out. Went in search of tissue, came back, and cried some more! So make sure those tissues are to hand! Thing is, I didn’t even see it coming! I thought It was leading to something else! It is one of those stories that will stick with me forever and make me want to cry every time I think about it. The only other book(s) that has got me this bad was The Hunger Games! Forbidden was such a powerful story and had such an impact on me that it makes me want to rush out and buy everything that Tabitha has ever written.

I gave this 5 out of 5!

About Secret Lives of Fiction Lovers

Hi I'm Dayna. I love to read and shop! Books, beauty and lifestyle blogger. Love all things handmade. I beta/proofread and review products upon request.

Posted on May 20, 2011, in Book Reviews, Tabitha Suzuma. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

